School of Computing Celebration of Excellence

Faculty, staff, students and special guests gathered in the Fireside Room at Ban Righ Hall on Friday to celebrate the recent achievements of faculty in the School. First, Drs James Cordy and Patrick Martin who are retiring after many years were recognized for their great service to the School for over 30 years. Second, Dr Gabor Fichtinger was recognized for being named Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) in Computer-Integrated Surgery. Third, Dr Ahmed Hassan was recognized for his NSERC Steacie Fellowship (for his contributions to the applications of machine learning to the engineering of ultra large-scale systems), his induction into the Royal Society of Canada, and his elevation to the rank of IEEE Fellow. Finally, Dr Robin Dawes was recognized for receiving the Frank Knox award for outstanding commitment to the education of students of Queen’s University through teaching excellence.

The School of Computing appreciates the participation of the following in the event:

  • The Queen’s Provost, Dr. Tom Harris
  • Dean, School of Graduate Studies, Dr. Fahim Quadir
  • Vice Dean,  Faculty Arts and Science, Dr. Gordon Smith
  • Associate Dean Research, Dr. Nick Mosey
  • Associate Vice Principal Research, Dr. Kent Novakowski

Congratulations to all!

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.