Computing Student Research Conference (CSearch)

The inaugural Computing Student Research (CSearch) Conference took place over the weekend featuring 5 keynote speakers, a panel session on Graduate Studies featuring Professor Qingling Duan, Professor Parvin Mousavi and Professor Hossam Hassanein, 16 undergraduate and graduate research talks from Queen’s students and students from other universities, a programming competition and lots of great food, conversation and networking.

The conference was attended by over 100 students from across Canada – some coming from as far as Manitoba!

Many thanks to the organizers who put in countless hours of volunteer time to provide an excellent learning opportunity and to showcase Queen’s School of Computing.

The organizing committee consisted of:

  • Zac Baum – MSc student,
  • Brandon Chan – MSc student,
  • Rachael House – MSc student,
  • Nuwan Perera – MSc student,
  • Grace Underwood – MSc student,
  • Taylor Smith – PhD student,
  • Alex Wojaczek – Undergraduate student

With additional volunteer, planning and logistics support from:

  • Ramy Ayash – Undergraduate student,
  • Anne Liu – Undergraduate student,
  • Justin Gerolami – MSc student,
  • Sou Theocharides – Undergraduate student,
  • Kenny Patel – Undergraduate student,
  • Ftoon Kedwan – PhD student,
  • Shahnaz Shariff – MSc student,
  • Katherine Le – Undergraduate student

Wendy Powley lent her time and efforts as faculty advisor for the conference – helping with acquiring keynote speakers and additional funding for the conference without which the event would not have been possible.

The conference was made possible by our generous sponsors including Queen’s Faculty of Arts and Science, Dean of Student Affairs Office, Queen’s School of Graduate Studies and CS-CAN/INFO-CAN; and of course the support of the School of Computing.

Congratulations are also in order to our research competition prize winners; in the graduate category Alireza Sedghi took the grand prize, with Sazia Mahfuz as runner up. In the undergraduate category, Eric Steinke claimed the grand prize, with Michael Lombardo taking the runner up prize.

Many thanks also to Aaron Visser who spent his weekend providing technical expertise so that we all looked professional!

We look forward to seeing the event come back to life next year and hope to see some of you back there again!

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.