Ninth Annual School of Computing Awards

On May 14, 2017, School Director Selim Akl hosted the Ninth Annual Queen’s School of Computing Awards ceremony. The awards were created to recognize excellence in various forms of endeavour, an opportunity to celebrate the contributions of those in the school who distinguished themselves through their exceptional work, and as an opportunity to say thank you to those who made a difference in School life.

This year’s awards also recognized the lifetime service of retiring Undergraduate Program Assistant, Irene Lafleche, and 10-year outgoing Director of the School, Selim Akl. This year’s other recipients were:

  • Howard Staveley Teaching Award in Recognition of Teaching Excellence: Wendy Powley (with honourable mention to Robin Dawes)
  • Excellence in Teaching Assistance Award: Matthew Rodgers
  • Outstanding Master’s Thesis Award: Chris Keeler
  • Ph.D. Research Achievement Award: Matthew Holden and Peter Chen
  • Graduate Student Distinguished Service Award: Eric Rapos
  • Ian Macleod Graduate Student Award: Eric Rapos
  • Distinguished Graduate Supervision Award: James Cordy
  • Research Award: Cor-Paul Bezemer
  • Award for Outstanding Contribution to School Life: Zach Baum and Vinyas Harish
  • Distinguished Lifetime Service Award: Irene LaFleche and Selim Akl


Photos by Doug Martin

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.